Home > Our expertise > Our people > Science Leadership > Dr Frances Priddy

Dr Frances Priddy

Executive Director, Vaccine Alliance Aotearoa New Zealand - Ohu Kaupare Huaketo

Dr Frances Priddy received her medical degree from the University of California, San Francisco and holds a Masters in Public Health from University of California, Berkley. She completed her medical training at Brigham and Women's Hospital, Harvard University in Boston. Dr Priddy cared for patients on the Navajo Nation for the US Public Health Service and was an Assistant Professor in the Division of Infectious Diseases at Emory University School of Medicine in Atlanta where she specialised in HIV medicine, international health, and vaccine clinical trials.

In 2006, Dr Priddy joined the International AIDS Vaccine Initiative (IAVI) where as Chief Medical Officer, she led clinical strategy and epidemiology for over 20 viral and bacterial vaccine and antibody candidates, including HIV, TB, Ebola-Sudan, Lassa fever and Marburg. She joined the Malaghan Institute in 2020 and is the Executive Director for the Vaccine Alliance Aotearoa New Zealand - Ohu Kaupare Huaketo (VAANZ).

Dr Priddy has over 20 years experience in emerging infectious disease vaccine development, international health and HIV prevention clinical trials in the US, Europe, Africa and India. Her research experience includes:

  • Clinical vaccine development using a variety of platforms: adenoviral vectors, replicating viral vectors, subunit protein, adjuvants, DNA and mRNA vaccines
  • Emerging infectious disease vaccines
  • COVID-19 vaccine development and deployment
  • New technologies for infectious disease prevention - monoclonal antibodies, long-acting antivirals
  • Vaccine safety and pharmacovigilence
  • Planning for vaccine introduction and monitoring in epidemic scenarios 
  • HIV vaccine development and HIV prevention in low and middle income countries
  • Translational medicine studies and vaccine immunology
  • International health and women's health

MD(California), MPH(California), American College of Physicians Fellow