Our people

More than 100 researchers and support staff work at the Malaghan Institute, advancing our research across cancer, asthma and allergy, gut health, brain health and infectious diseases.

We have a commitment to educating, fostering and developing scientists to ensure the continuing success and excellence of scientific research in New Zealand.

The Malaghan Institute Trust Board and Friends Committees throughout the country support our mission and promote awareness of our research activities.  

Senior Research Staff

Professor Graham Le Gros

Director of Research, Allergic and Parasitic Diseases Programme Leader

Professor Ian Hermans

Deputy Director of Research, Cancer Immunotherapy Programme Leader

Professor Franca Ronchese

Immune Cell Biology Programme Leader

Professor Mike Berridge

Cancer Cell Biology Group Leader

Dr Melanie McConnell

Cell Survival Research Associate

Professor Anne La Flamme

Multiple Sclerosis Research Associate

Dr Olivier Gasser

Translational Immunology Group Leader

Dr Lisa Connor

Vaccine Research Associate

Dr Rachel Perret

Team Leader, Freemasons CAR T-cell Research Programme

Dr Robert Weinkove

Wade Thompson Clinical Research Fellow

Postdoctoral Fellows

Business Support

Trust Board

Mr Graham Malaghan

ONZM, Hon. DSc (VUW), FCILT, (Chairman)

Professor Graham Le Gros

CNZM, FRSNZ, FRCPA (Hon), BSc(Massey), Dip Immunol(Otago), MPHIL (Auckland), PhD(Auckland)

Mr John Beattie


Mr Tim Bennett


Associate Professor John Carter


Sir Paul Collins


Professor Parry Guilford

MSC (Otago), PhD (CU), FRSNZ

Dr Dianne C McCarthy

CNZM, CRSNZ, PhD, MSc(Hons), BA, BSc

Mr Tony Mossman

BBS, Dip Bus Stud, CA, CMInstD